Crochet Slippers

After the holidays, I had a difficult time finding my next project to really inspire me. I actually took quite a long break from making anything, which was surprising. But eventually I decided it was a good time to try some slipper patterns that I have been interested for awhile. So I dug out the magazines and found multiple patterns and got to work.

After trying out 5 different slipper patterns, I finally found one that worked for me. My problem was all my slippers turned out way too big. They were beyond giant. I did a gauge swatch, I matched the yarn, or as close a substitute as I could and changed my hook size to achieve the right tension but it was slipper after slipper that was just not working out.

I finally found success with the Something’s Afoot slipper pattern by Lena Skvagerson from Crochet! Magazine, Autumn 2018 issue. It has a granny square that forms the top of the slipper and the rest of the slipper is crocheted in one piece in the back loops. I used Paton’s Classic Wool Merino and was finally able to complete a pair that matched the sizing for a women’s 9-10! I am working on another pair in Paton’s Classic Wool in a different shade, Magnolia and once that pair is done I can move on to a new project.

Leave a comment

Filed under accessories, Crochet, Slippers

Leave a comment