Future WIP: Crochet Christmas Blanket with bird

via Ravelry.com

In Simply Crochet magazine issue 90 there is a lovely pattern for a Christmas Blanket with a robin detail in one corner by designer Kate Eastwood. I really liked this design and the colours and spend a fair amount of time trying to find the green yarn called for in the pattern, Caron Simply Soft Heathers. My local Michaels did not have it, neither did one in Portland that my mum was visiting. I started looking online and I found it at Yarnspirations but the shipping was quite expensive. So I ended up having a look through my stash to see if I had some yarn that would work and I found 3 skeins of Lion Brand Heartland in King’s Canyon and 3 skeins in Joshua Tree.

But neither of these colours are quite right for the blanket, and they don’t really go with the red border and holly designs. Plus, I didn’t have enough of either colour so I would still need to buy more.

I ended up getting a coupon from Mary Maxim which also had the yarn on sale so I think it worked out very well. I am looking forward to making this blanket for myself, probably after Christmas or at least until all my gifts are completed.

Leave a comment

Filed under blankets, blankets & afghans, Crochet, decor, holidays, magazines

Leave a comment